He cocks up

Had an interesting email conversation with AH last Thursday.  I still can’t quite believe it, despite it following his usual over-reactive path…

AH:  Does [M9, but spelt wrong] have one on one with you tomorrow night and meant to walk to you after school?

Me:   Yes

AH:  So when we’re you going to tell me and discuss it with me?

Me:  Sure you realise your son is actually named [M9, spelt correctly] 😉

Me:  Discuss what? You remember we swapped, right? What else were you thinking?

AH:  When we’re you going to ask me if it was okay for [M9] to swap so u can go to a party?  Why are they telling me these things?

Me:  Seriously?!!  You agreed on 29 Jan: ” …. I will swap but the next time I ask, I would appreciate the same”.  Have you forgotten?

What exactly is the issue here?  This has been arranged for weeks and now you’re claiming no knowledge. Kindly stop this arrogant, antagonistic stance. What time should I get [M9] tomoro then? Pls ensure he knows what the new plan is.

AH:  Please send me the email because I can’t find it.  The plan hasn’t changed he will come to you after school

Me:  Check your texts. It was when you threw your toys about missing [his mate’s 40th in Sydney] despite me being invited on 6 Jan.  Pls don’t put the kids in this.

AH:  Ok…found it…sorry

BoomI do so love being right but am disappointed to hear from M9 that AH got angry with both him and M11 “and we didn’t like it”.   Why didn’t he make a note of the date swap when the plan was made?  

I don’t believe I should handhold him (we’re meant to be CO-parenting; not me continuing to be the one who keeps track/organises/sorts gear for sports, etc), but to make things smoother for the kids and avoid them being blamed for his mistake again, I will look to set up a calendar in Google Drive that we both have access to.   Wonder if he’ll think it ‘controlling’, as usual!

3 thoughts on “He cocks up

  1. We have something here that’s called the family wizard where you can put everything that concerns the kids and also emails. He won’t be able to deny he hasn’t received them. Check it out. The mediator was the one who actually suggested it. I never knew these things existed.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for this – had a look and can’t justify the cost at the mo, but found a free alternative (probably not as good as Family Wizard but better than the Google option). Downloaded it and sent it to AH so we’ll see what he says. So far, he’s not even responded :(. Again, thanks for pointing me in the right direction. YAY!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment